jump to navigation

Journey Deeper into God’s Word Сентябрь 10, 2009

Posted by Alyosha Kolodiy in Today's Devotional.
trackback

Journey Deeper into Gods Word

Journey Deeper into God's Word

Led this morning to read Psalm 23,

‘The LORD is my shepherd, I shall not be in want. He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside quiet waters, he restores my soul. He guides me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake. Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me. Surely goodness and love will follow me all the days of my life, and I will dwell in the house of the LORD forever.’

The Lord is calling me and all people to draw near to Him. To dwell in the house of the LORD forever. And in entering God’s house, in coming into His presence we will experience goodness and love! How glorious is that! I am presently attending the Bible Society in New Zealand staff conference and yesterday we spent the day in prayer, opening the Word, and sharing testimony — drawing close to God as a community. And the room was full of goodness and love! Laughter, support, a wonderful feeling indeed!

The opposite of drawing close to God, is to be focused on me. And in being focused on me I find myself desiring gadgets, cool motorbikes and a nicer house, I rush around, driven to personal success, I am prone to worry and to being anxious, and I can spend the day with a glum look on my face.

And yet the clear promise in Psalm 23 is the complete opposite if I draw close to the Lord and ‘dwell in the House of the Lord forever’. We will understand the world in relation to others needs. How can I yearn after a nicer house when so many struggle with poverty? I realise that God wants me to rest, to take time out and be restored. Psalm 23 states that God ‘makes me lie down in green pastures.’ This isn’t an invitation, but a command! I can see that when God is present, my fears and concerns soon disappear as I hand them over to Him. And as I find myself drawing closer to the Lord, I am quick to laugh, quick to love. God is working in my life and I praise Him for that!

God bless ya,
Mark Brown — http://www.facebook.com/RevMarkBrown

……………………….
My reflection is available as a podcast: In iTunes: http://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewPodcast?id=330613364 (Click Subscribe)

On the net: http://mbrownsky.hipcast.com/rss…/journeying_deeper_with_mark_brown.xml (Connect with your RSS Feed Reader)
…………………….
***You are receiving this message as you joined my group: ‘Journey Deeper into God’s Word’ If you would prefer not to receive this message remove yourself from the group at: http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=128624591729

Комментарии»

No comments yet — be the first.

Добавить комментарий

