jump to navigation

Journey Deeper into 2 Chronicles 7:14 Сентябрь 13, 2009

Posted by Alyosha Kolodiy in Today's Devotional.
trackback

Mark Brown

Mark Brown

Hey!! Checking out: 2 Chronicles 7:14 : ‘Then if my people who are called by my name will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, I will hear from heaven and will forgive their sins and restore their land.’

It all began about three weeks ago while I was praying for what ministry God wanted me to do next after I finished as CEO of Bible Society New Zealand. I got a really unexpected answer: ‘prepare’.

God made it clear that I needed to prepare for my next role. Like an athlete who trains hard leading up to an event, I needed to work on my relationship with God.

The first part of the preparation was coming before God and confronting my sin: brutal honesty, acknowledging the need to shine His light in the darkest recesses of my life. The second part was journeying deeper into His Word, which has involved very early each day, finding a quiet spot and really digging deep into the Bible.

And as I confronted sin and journeyed deep into His Word things started to happen, I got this energy to really serve Him, I started seeing my life and the church around me in a new way, realising of myself and the church that we have been playing at being Christian, happy just to turn up, seeing Bible reading and prayer as a chore, something to be quickly completed then onto the next job.

I realised that reading my Bible isn’t a job but a journey and a joy! As I drew close to God the Holy Spirit started to work more in my life, giving me energy and an overwhelming love!

And things started to move in my life. Within a few days I was approached about a seriously stunning ministry leadership role! Also the Bible page I started on Facebook started growing dramatically and was ranked as the fastest growing religious organisation page on all of Facebook (and still is)! My preaching and public speaking, previously really hard work, suddenly became easy as my role wasn’t about keeping peoples attention and imparting some interesting information, but sharing with people what God was sharing with me.

And then about a week ago while journeying deeper into God’s Word, God told me to invite others along on the journey. So I started this group, ‘Journey Deeper into God’s Word’ which in just over a week now has 4,819 members and growing rapidly!

This isn’t about me, most of these people don’t personally know me. This is about God using me, working through me. As I draw closer to Him the more He is using me! What is also happening as I draw nearer is that the amount I am tempted is growing as the enemy increases its attacks. I need to be extra careful and stay strong.

And then a couple of days ago I came across 2 Chronicles 7:14 : ‘Then if my people who are called by my name will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, I will hear from heaven and will forgive their sins and restore their land.’ And then on 4 more occasions I stumbled across it – God cleary wanted me to read this passage and share it!

Reading this absolutely confirms the journey of preparation I am on. Humbling myself, praying, seeking after God and turning from wicked ways and God will forgive my sin and restore my land!

When it talks of restoring land, this is referring to God giving peace and security and all that is required to live productive and exciting life. So I am assured that as I continue to prepare myself, that God has something even more amazing in store!!

The key is that I continue to humble myself, pray often, really seek after God and turn from my sin.

Great to involve you on this journey!

God bless ya,
Mark Brown — http://www.facebook.com/RevMarkBrown

……………………….
My reflection is available as a podcast: In iTunes: http://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewPodcast?id=330613364 (Click Subscribe)

On the net: http://mbrownsky.hipcast.com/rss…/journeying_deeper_with_mark_brown.xml (Connect with your RSS Feed Reader)

***You are receiving this message as you joined my group: ‘Journey Deeper into God’s Word’ If you would prefer not to receive this message remove yourself from the group at: http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=128624591729

Комментарии»

No comments yet — be the first.

Добавить комментарий

