jump to navigation

A Small Gift Ноябрь 3, 2009

Posted by Alyosha Kolodiy in Today's Devotional.
trackback

Sometimes, what we consider to be small gifts, can have a more profound impact on someone’s life than the gifts we may consider to be more valuable. There is a second-hand bookshop I like to frequent not far from where I work. When I have spare time, I would amble across the road and browse through the books. One Tuesday, I was in the bookshop and came across a book written by an author who lived in the 1800’s. The title -very simply: GOD LOVES YOU. The owner of the bookshop must be the friendliest lady I met in a long time. She takes such a keen interest in everyone of her customers and the elderly folks often just hang around in the store to chat with her. As I was placing my choice on the counter to pay, an elderly gentleman stepped aside and allowed me to go before him. He was just chatting with the owner and didn’t really have in mind to buy anything. He looked at the title of the book and said, «God loves you! That’s interesting.» My response slipped out, «Yes, interesting and very true!» «That’s beautiful», he said. As I was leaving, an unexpected thing happened to me. An overwhelming sense of compassion came over me for this gentleman. I did not know him at all, and although he looked like a very decent person, it was also evident that he must have had some trouble with alcohol addiction some where in his life. The sensation of compassion was so overwhelming that it stopped me dead in my tracks and I found that I could not leave the store before I give this man something. I looked in my purse and all I had on me was a 10 Rand note (equivalent to about $1.50). I felt so ashamed of that but took it out anyway and gave it to him. I gave him a quick smile and wanted to get out of there as fast as I can. I was embarrassed. «What must these people think of me?» I thought as I saw many pairs of eyes fixing on me as I did this. «They must think that I think that this guy is a tramp.» Man, I wished the earth could swallow me. I practically ran out of there and continued to rebuke myself for this crazy thing I did. So much so, that I never returned to the bookstore again. One morning, many weeks later, I was questioning the Lord in my quiet time with Him. I wanted to know how on earth someone like me could be of any use to Him. Well, He didn’t answer me. Just silence. I finally dragged myself out of the house and went to work. I didn’t feel too good about myself that morning. I had a cancellation early that morning and again had some free time. I decided to go the bookstore again. Hopefully the owner would have forgotten who I was and what stupid thing I did by now. The moment I stepped in, she called out. «Excuse me, darling. Are you the lady who gave the gentleman a R10 a while back?» Oh my, there goes that hope right out the window. My heart sank as I answered yes, again in the presence of a good couple of customers. «Well,» she said, «I must just tell you, that the gentleman you gave the money to was crying as you left and said that never in his life did someone give him such a priceless gift. He couldn’t stop crying. And you know what, my darling? That gentleman is a multi-millionaire! I have never seen a R10 change someone so. It still gives me goose-bumps when I think about it. I’m not a religious person, but what I can tell you, is that whatever spirit it is that told you to do that, is a good spirit. The moment you walked in here, I got the goosebumps all over again. He’s still talking about it. Almost everyday.» She continued to thank me and I was speechless. I later started to speak to her more openly and learned that the gentleman’s name was Peter and that he was very ill. Not long after that Peter passed away. So, as it turned out, God did answer my question -in a most amazing and unexpected way. Never underestimate what God could do in your weakness. In fact, that is the time when He does most -when we are least involved. Who despises the day of small things? Zechariah 4:10a But He said to me, «My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.» by Ula Gillion

Комментарии»

No comments yet — be the first.

Добавить комментарий

